Learning while at the Bar!

Emmitt and Phil at Soft tip dart playoff fall 07

Hey it’s Emmitt Muckles. I’m stepping into the blogging area with full force. My other websites tied to my business’ are www.mucklesentertainment.com & www.emmittmuckles.com. Check me out and drop me a line.

Enough with the preliminaries.

I was playing darts today and was playing inconsistent.

I participate in a weekly recreational league for soft tip darts.
Darts and the various games have been a passion of mine for at least 12 years. I stated playing because of frequenting a neighborhood bar in Metro Detroit. I think the name of the bar was called the Acoustic Cafe. At the Acoustic Cafe the owner organized a team to participate in the local league. He asked if I would like to join the bar’s team. I thought what the heck and said “sure”. After the first couple of league matches, I saw how serious these people (Dart players) were, and I was hooked.

Over the years I have played for various teams, bars and leagues during which my ranking has progressively gotten higher/better.
There is one problem I have found, which applied to general life. When I play on teams with lower skill levels than mine, my skill level drops. I have tried to analyze this and cannot figure it out.

When I am on these certain teams, I struggle to maintain my average of a bout 20~ 22 Points per dart. Conversely wnen I play on and against teams with higher profile player in 301, 501 and cricket ( which are dart specific games), I seem to flourish.

This scenario applies to general life, if you are around individuals,groups and environments where the expectation is high, it is a natural for your your composure and competence will elevate.

I have been experimenting with this concept of Hi/Low environments for at least three years, and I keep proving the point, to raise your skill level, involve yourself with environments and people that are have a bar that is equal or higher than yours level.

I think this is one of the many reasons I decided to write my first book; to raise my personal bar and change the dynamic of my life and those I come into contact with. My book is entitled ” the journey of one” by Emmitt MucklesYEAHHH!

The goal for me and competitive soft tip darts or steel tip is to participate in the annual Las Vegas Desert Classic. Yes SIR! There I can experience the highest level of Play.

One thought on “Learning while at the Bar!

  1. Darts and drink with Friends is always a GREAT DAY!

    Steel-tip is really the only dart for me.
    Soft tip will do in a pinch tho.

Leave a Reply, Tell me what U think!

